Green List

Travellers coming to Malta from the ‘Green List' of safe countries will NOT be subjected to a swab test on arrival. There will only be thermal screening at the airport and persons arriving will be asked to fill a self-declaration form requesting information on their travels in the previous 30 days. Specifically, they will be asked to confirm that they have not travelled anywhere outside the safe countries listed.


At present, no countries are on the ‘Green List'.

Amber list

From June 17

With effect from Thursday, 17th June 2021, passengers arriving from countries on the ‘Amber List' below are required to submit a negative COVID-19 PCR test certificate before boarding flights to Malta. This swab test would need to have been carried out up to 72 hours (maximum) prior to arrival in Malta. If a negative PCR test is not presented, a swab test on arrival or a 14-day quarantine period is mandatory on arrival.

From July 1

From the 1st July 2021, EU Citizens need to present a Vaccine Certificate before boarding. The certificate needs to be issued with regards to a vaccine, which is recognised and approved by Malta’s Superintendent of Public Health (currently only the Maltese Vaccination Certificate). The approved vaccines include Pfizer-BioNtech, Moderna, Oxford-AstraZeneca, and Johnson & Johnson. Citizens from any other country need to present a negative PCR Swab Test which needs to be taken at least 72 hours prior to arrival in Malta.

If upon arrival in Malta, any passenger (aged 5 and older) is not in possession of a negative nasopharyngeal PCR result, a valid Maltese vaccination certificate in case of Maltese nationals and those holding a Maltese residency permit or an official vaccination certificate recognized and approved by the Superintendent of Public Health, the passenger will be subject to a mandatory PCR test and/or mandatory quarantine against a fee as per legal notice LN229 of 2021.

Countries on the Amber List:

  • Andorra 
  • Australia
  • Austria 
  • Belgium 
  • Bulgaria 
  • Canada 
  • China, including the territories of Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau
  • Croatia 
  • Cyprus 
  • Czech Republic 
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland 
  • France 
  • Germany 
  • Greece 
  • Hungary 
  • Iceland 
  • Ireland 
  • Israel
  • Italy 
  • Japan 
  • Jordan 
  • Latvia 
  • Lebanon 
  • Liechtenstein 
  • Lithuania 
  • Luxembourg 
  • Monaco 
  • Netherlands 
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland  
  • Portugal 
  • Romania 
  • San Marino 
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia 
  • Slovenia 
  • South Korea
  • Spain 
  • Sweden 
  • Switzerland 
  • Thailand 
  • Turkey 
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom 
  • Vatican City 
  • United States of America but only limited to the following states: Washington, Oregon, Louisiana, Arizona, West Virginia, Colorado, North Dakota, Indiana, Georgia, Texas, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, Tennessee, Iowa, Nebraska, Ohio, South Carolina, New Mexico, Florida, Virginia, Maine, South Dakota, Michigan, Illinois, Delaware, Wisconsin, Puerto Rico, Hawaii, New Jersey, Minnesota, Connecticut, Alaska, New Hampshire, Maryland, New York, Rhode Island, District of Columbia, Massachusetts, Vermont, California.

Red List

Any country which is not mentioned nor included in the Green or Amber List will automatically be classified as a Red List Country. Travel to Malta is only allowed for Maltese citizens or those who have a valid residence permit for Malta.

People from Red List Countries cannot travel to Malta unless there is a bilateral agreement in place. However, as from 1st July 2021, European Union residents with a valid EU vaccination certificate for vaccines which are approved by Malta’s Superintendent of Public Health (Pfizer-BioNtech, Moderna, Oxford-AstraZeneca and Jannsen) can travel from a Red List Country to Malta

Corridor Countries

It is important to note that any person travelling to Malta must have stayed in any corridor country (i.e. Green or Amber Zone) for not less than the previous 14 days prior to arriving in Malta, and should be able to present proof of this stay in a corridor country. Persons coming to Malta must not pass through transit airports in red zones.


Sign up for the newsletter to get the best travel deals in Malta first hand.
Want to know first-hand the news in Malta?
Follow us on instagram: instagram malta
or a On Facebook: facebook logo Thanks;)